I am not sorry for you, Carla Alcorn.

“Carla Alcorn, I understand that you lost a child, and I am sorrier about that than you could ever know. However, you need to understand that her blood is on your hands. You did this, and, even worse, you continue to disrespect her identity, even in death. That is shameful. Leelah deserved better. If she had been lucky enough to have parents who truly loved and respected her as a person, she would still be alive today.”  source

There is blood on Leelah’s parents’ hands, and they’re still too bigoted and prejudiced to see it. I am not sorry you lost your daughter; I’m sorry the world had to see a beautiful trans woman be beaten down until she no longer felt like she needed to live. I am not sorry you thought your reputation was more important than your daughter’s happiness. I am sorry Leelah had to deal with you as parents when she clearly deserved better. I am not sorry for your loss because you clearly are still the bigot that Leelah described on her tumblr and reddit posts. I am sorry that Leelah felt so alone that she had to turn to the Internet to feel loved — and even that was not enough. I am not sorry that you feel the need to protect your reputation still. I am sorry that Leelah is still being disrespected even after her death, being called by the wrong pronoun, buried with the wrong name, buried in the wrong clothes, the list goes on. I am not sorry and I will never be sorry. This post may be deleted but that’s fine because I will reupload it until justice is served and Leelah’s wishes are fulfilled. Because, for me, a human life is worth more than a person’s reputation — something that you clearly have not understood. And I am not alone; the entire tumblr community is behind Leelah, even in her death.

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

Leave a Reply

