Dream Reader? What’s that?

Catching up on my Blogging 101 prompts! This one talks about writing to my dream reader.

Okay, so where to begin…

I honestly don’t think there’s such a thing as a “dream reader” because the reading experience is different for everyone. I have certain experiences that make me feel a certain way about certain subjects — and I honestly don’t expect my readers to feel the same way as me. That’s what makes human interactions and sociology so interesting: the uniqueness of the human experience. It’s a lot like reacting to a song or a genre of music. I love listening to hip-hop because it allows me to be free and express my opinions in ways that classical and pop music never allowed me to. That doesn’t mean I think hip-hop is the greatest in the world or that I never listen to pop or classical. But one of my readers can feel completely differently — ie. they can live and breathe classical music and compose the most beautiful chord progressions for a symphony orchestra (since Mendelssohn– my preference is showing…). And that’s pretty damn cool too. Which is why I started blogging to learn more about everyone’s experiences and opinions. I can’t expect y’all have to react the same way as I do about the topics I blog about, but I do expect my readers to interact with me and each other in a civil and sophisticated manner.

So a dream reader? I don’t have one. And I’m okay with that.

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

Leave a Reply

