I Do Not Have A Boyfriend

Rose Water Magazine

A few days ago I was standing outside at the bus stop minding my own business when a man approached me.“Sorry to bother you, but I was walking by and noticed you are very beautiful. I was wondering if you happen to have a boyfriend,” he asked. “Yea, I do, actually. Sorry,” I replied as I boarded the bus that conveniently arrived just as I’d finished replying to my suitor.

I felt annoyed. I didn’t want to be bothered at the bus stop. I didn’t want to have to strategize how to handle myself in an awkward and intrusive social encounter. But I did have to, and I handled the situation poorly, at best.

In the Luna Luna article, “Stop Saying ‘I Have a Boyfriend’,” Alecia Eberhardt discusses the negative social implications of using this excuse when attempting to dismiss unwanted attention, whether the advances are intrusive or…

View original post 678 more words

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

Leave a Reply

