You wake up one day and realize you’re ten years older than you were the previous night. Beyond the initial shock, how does this development change your life plans? (Daily Prompt here

I’m going to assume that not only did I get 10 years older overnight, but I also gained all the knowledge I was trying to attain as a 20 year old — ie. BS, MS, that sort of thing. So if that’s the case as well, then I will immediately start looking for jobs overseas. It’s always been a dream of mine to work in London, and live near-ish to London. I’m a huge fan of theater and musicals, so I’ve always wanted to visit the Theater District in London and immerse myself in the art. 

I don’t think I would be upset that I’ve become 10 years older but more excited because I can finally travel to the places I’ve always been dreaming about. And cross more items off of my bucket list – like parasailing and hang-gliding and bungee jumping. Since I’m assuming that my-now-30-year-old-self is roughly where my-20-year-old-self is trying to get to be, I’d be hella motivated to start applying everything I’ve learned and making a difference in the world. 

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

