Let’s build peptides!

Day Seven Writing 101: Give and Take. (See prompt here)

So I took organic chemistry last year in college, and one of the last topics was learning about how to form a short chain of amino acids (peptides). And the most effective way to do so is the solid phase peptide synthesis otherwise known as the Merrifield synthesis. This dialogue is basically going to be between the resin and the amino acid. 

“It sure feels weird now that ALA-VAL-GLY-LEU-ALA is gone.” 

“Hi Resin!” 

“Oh hey VAL. I see that you got t-BOC with ya.” 

“Yeah! t-BOC is super helpful, but now that I’m attached to you, I don’t need it anymore! Oh here comes the deprotection wash! See ya t-BOC! Thanks for the help!” 

“So I guess it’s just you and me, VAL. Do you know who you’re going to be bonded to?” 

“No idea! But whomever it is, it’s going to be fun!” 

“Yeah, I guess it will be. We just have to wait.” 

“Yup!” 

“… So any new gossip from the lab?” 

“Not really, but I did hear something about ALA and GLY’s fight! But I didn’t get a clear picture. So I’d ask ALA and GLY when they bond with you!” 

“Got it. Thanks, VAL.” 

“No problem, Resin! But be really careful! They’re both reeaaaaally upset with each other!” 

“Don’t worry VAL. I’ll take care of it.” 

“Okay!” 

“You sure you don’t know who’s bonding with you?” 

“Yup! I don’t!” 

“Okay then.” 

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

Leave a Reply

