Little Shop of Heaven

Day 2 of Writing 101. A Room with a View (or Just a View). (See prompt here) This is really late, and I’m sorry for that! I had a lot of trouble with this one. It was harder than Day One’s stream-of-consciousness prompt. Mostly because there are a lot of places I want to travel, and a fair share of safe places where I like to be sometimes. But this’s prompt helped me in deciding what to write about, which is something I often struggle with.Bitter, with a hint sweet. The liquid was hot, I must have burnt the tip of my tongue. Ah, but it felt so nice to hold the cup. The rest of the customers must’ve felt the same way. Everyone enjoying their cup of heaven. No one wanted to leave and go back to the cold reality. Literally, cold. Outside, people are trudging past the little shop of heaven. Some hurrying to make it to some appointment or another. Others taking their time, enjoying the weather as small snowflakes fell gently on their hair and coats, each one unique, giving humans only a moment or two to enjoy their intricate beauty before melting. Gone. Vanished. It was a cycle that repeated over and over and over. The beauty was there, for those that cared to look for it. And for those of us that decided to stop, sip, and enjoy, the beauty magnified. On the tops of the cars, streets, colorful hats on those that hurried past, street lights, buses, newsstands. Everyone was covered. Oh look, that man’s hat. Looks like granny squares. A flash of blue coats, pink shoes. Were they part of someone’s outfit? I don’t see how they can work together, depends on the shades of the two, I suppose. Ah, those newspapers will turn soggy soon! Why do people stare at their phones while they walk? They could hurt themselves if they accidentally step on ice — or others, for that matter. I take another sip, enjoying the bittersweet taste. It’s not as hot but my tongue is still a little burnt. In the shop, everyone seems to be doing the same thing – observing others. But once their cups are empty, they reluctantly get up, giving a small sigh. Back into the cold. The break in this little shop of heaven doesn’t last very long. It never does. Illusions are often like that. Can’t trick reality, as much as we would like to try. Oh, my cup’s empty too, I sighed. I don’t want to leave this warmth, but my work can’t wait. Slowly, I put on my gloves, hat, scarf, and recycle my empty cup. Opening the door, a blast of cold air hits my face, and I bury my face into my scarf. Walking away from the shop. Hurrying to my work. Can’t fool reality, but a cup of heaven is worth a try.

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

2 thoughts on “Little Shop of Heaven

  1. marceedee says:

    I can tell from this post that you would have enjoyed the stream-of-conciousness assignment. In a way, it helps the reader feel as though they are in the head of the character. I was left wondering whether the place being enjoyed and described was the outside and the snow, or the inside of the shop. Or maybe, it was the “cup of heaven” itself?

    • squishymaru says:

      Hehe, I love stream-of-consciousness, whether it’s reading or writing. Ah, that wasn’t clear, now that I read the post again. I personally was thinking from inside the shop, but I think it can be interpreted either way depending on how the reader enjoys their “cup of heaven”. So, I’ll leave that to the readers to interpret.

Leave a Reply

