Abortion Doesn’t Have To Be A Big Deal

Thought Catalog

The first thing my friend did when she told me about her abortion was laugh. She met me where I was waiting for her in the park, and she just laughed. At first I thought it was nervous laughter, the slight giggle that comes when you’re not really sure what else to do. But I saw she was smiling, and I realized that this was the real thing. In a society where abortion is such a contentious and emotionally charged issue, my friend just looked at me and laughed, and when she clutched her tummy I wasn’t sure whether I should be concerned or amused. But she seemed fine. It was over now.

“So,” I said hesitantly, through her laughter. “How… was it?”

She paused for a second, wiping mascara away from the crook of her eye with a pinky. “Oh my God,” she told me, “it was the most…

View original post 1,911 more words

2 thoughts on “Abortion Doesn’t Have To Be A Big Deal

  1. Sandi says:

    This is one of those posts that makes one embarrassed to be pro-choice. No matter how you feel about abortion, sexual irresponsibility is not laughable or commendable in any way shape or form. Sex is a big kids game. I’m fine with whomever and whenever someone wants to play it, but she puts other people at risk for stds, in addition to herself, by acting so irresponsibility and using abortion as back up and primary birth control is just . . . unbecoming in every sense of the word.

    I like to hope that those that use the procedure of abortion do so for really serious situations (like rape, incest, medical issues, fetal medical problems) but clearly that’s not the case. To see a woman (educated woman?) treat sex so irresponsibly and abortion so callously is ethically unimpressive. No matter how you feel about abortion (I have not solidified my own thoughts myself) I would like to hope that a woman would treat a decision which holds the future (or not) of an entire individual in the balance with some degree of seriousness . . . developing fingers and all, rather than as an absurdity or a sunburn. I am not religious, nor am I sure that I think outlawing abortion is a reasonable option today, but I will not pretend that there is no cost to abortion on demand so we can have sex when we like: specifically that cost is fetuses of various gestational stages disposed of as medical waste in landfills by the hundreds of thousands, hers among them. So one hopes abortion is used when the cost (fetus in trash) is something serious enough to at least somewhat compensate for that.

    Written by someone who became unexpectedly pregnant at age 24, while in school, during meaningful, responsible engaged in sex. I carried my son to term, loved him in and out of the womb and was still able to garner more than one ivy league degree, rock a six figure job as my first employment upon graduation and am months away from publishing my first book. Unintended pregnancies complicate lives, but they don’t ruin them and pretending they do is insulting to the many women like me that stepped up to the plate when circumstances presented themselves. I like to think I accomplished all this woman did and more, while keeping my responsibility and loyalty toward my own body and my future child (who is a dream) in tact. Incidentally, I am a minority.

    • squishymaru says:

      As a pro-choice woman myself, I completely concur with what you have said. But then, I think about the many conversations I’ve overheard in high school and college, where girls and women are contemplating getting an abortion. It may not ruin some women’s lives, but if there isn’t a way to financially support the child, or have an emotional support system for the mother, I see why it may ruin some women’s lives. Still, as much as I cringe at the seemingly careless comments some girls throw around the college campus about their bodies, I’d much prefer deciding what I believe is right for my own body and life, rather than leaving it up to some “wackobird” in the state or national legislature.

Leave a Reply

