I was reading this ( http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/would-you-settle/ ) and it got me thinking… 

Call me old-fashioned, call me helpless, but I wouldn’t settle on being “a little happy”. I don’t think being in love with someone, or wanting someone to love you dearly is a lot to ask for. If it is, then why has humankind been so damn fascinated with it ever since we started evolving from chimpanzees? And moreover, there’s nothing wrong with being alone! Being alone gives you the freedom to do whatever you want, whenever you want, and however you want to. It gives you the freedom to go out with friends, spend time with family, and have a few hours to yourself to watch British romantic comedies. Quite honestly, I would much rather be alone than being “a little happy” because being a little happy means that I’ve compromised. It means that I settled for something less than what I should have. It means that I compromised my happiness for companionship, or whatever else you’d want to call it. Can’t we have both without choosing one over the other? 

Random

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

Leave a Reply

