Reblog: Coming out in 2008

I can’t imagine how hard it must have been to come out in 2008, bear through so much hatred possibly every single day, and then have to write to one of your most favorite people in the entire world who opposes your right to being fully human. It boggles my mind as to how easily people forget that there are human beings behind every single controversial debates. Did the extreme right forget how ignorant they are when it comes to procreation? Women do not just use birth control pills once per sexual intercourse. Simple junior high biology or sex education (if they have in their schools). Or do they forget that millions of people are being denied a pathway to citizenship primarily because their parents brought them here illegally in hopes of a better life? What happened to the human aspect of everything? After all, we are all still struggling to attain the same goal: live life as fully as possible. We are all in this together; I hope that everyone realizes that. The very few cannot pull the majority up. Gravity makes the majority’s hardships too heavy to lift. Which is why we must all try to make a difference, make change, and help society progress and move higher towards a better life. :3

Thought Catalog

I recently wrote to a childhood piano teacher, who had expressed a hard stance against gay marriage. I felt compelled to do so because she was truly one of my favorite people as a child. I think it’s important that we all take the time and patience to truly explain to people in our lives, past and present, how we feel without getting irrational or angry. Here is what I wrote:

Dear Mrs. X,

I hope you are doing well. I have thought long and hard about whether or not I would like to write to you, and finally decided that I would.

Gathering from your posts on Facebook, I can see that you are very anti-gay marriage, as many people in our country are. In 2008, after much personal struggle, I came out as a gay man. This was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, in a…

View original post 403 more words

Leave a Reply

