I fail to see it.

My friends know that I’m a feminist. But they still assume that I hate men.

The truth: “Though we adore men individually, we agree that as a group, they’re rather stupid”. (Mary Poppins “Sister Suffragette” song)

This will kinda be a rant, so I’m sorry for the possible lack of coherency.

~~~

I remember the first time I heard the word “feminist”. I believe it was back in 3rd grade when we were learning about US History. I thought these women were amazing, even back then with my limited knowledge and naivety. To fight for what they believed in and actually get legislative action? Heck, that’s better than most people that simply complain and never do anything to change.

But as I grew older, I never realized that I was a huge feminist at heart. I always fought with my dad and my aunt when I felt mistreated based solely on the fact that I was female. Because I just know that if I were a male, my parents and relatives would be so much more lenient.

Despite the fact that I never realized my true nature, till about sophomore year of high school, I’ve noticed the amount of criticism that feminists and female activists get. It’s ridiculous, even the jokes and the teasing. I’m sorry, but I will take offense because you just insulted my beliefs, even if it was in jest. These beliefs I hold dear to my heart and because I can’t bear to see anyone be denied for anything solely because of their sexual orientation, religious views, political views, gender, ethnicity, etc. We are all different and that’s what makes us human. 

So when one of my best friends wanted me to help on her essay, she said that I would like it because it’s about feminism. And I’m just like “that’s great but I believe in an egalitarian society, not a matriarchial or a patriarchial one”. Her response: “I’m just teasing you!”

I’m sorry. I love you to death. And you’re one of the people I probably couldn’t live without, but seriously you pissed me off so much then. And I could do nothing but laugh and calmly tell you my views. So hopefully you wouldn’t say anything else like that. Granted, this is the same friend that always asks me for relationship advice when I’ve never been in one before. (Yay for being single!)

I don’t care who reads this, reblogs this, or likes this. I need to get my views out there and clarified.

1. I don’t hate men. 

In fact, I spaz about men all the time. (Just ask my friends.) And on Tumblr, I let out a lot of my inner thoughts about the men I love. I have posters on my wall of men. My laptop background is a slide show of all the beautiful men I love. There is no way that I hate men.

But I do hate some of the judgments and decisions and comments they make. (Mind you, that goes for everyone, men and women.) Take the recent election for example. The things that Akin, Mourdock, Brown, Limbaugh, Matthews, etc. said pissed me off so much that I was eagerly waiting for their demise. (I don’t think I’ve ever hated so many people at once.)

I also don’t think that men have a right to dictate what women should do. Period. We have brain cells, and hopefully many of us have the capacity of using them.

2. I don’t want women ruling the world. 

Granted, I do want women to hold powerful positions and make important decisions. But I don’t think a world where one sex rules over another is a very lovely world. Only when the world is egalitarian would I be somewhat happy. Do I see flaws in a matriarchal society? Yes. Do I see flaws in a patriarchal society? Yes. There needs to be a balance because that’s the only way society will prosper for a significantly long time. Not like now where everyone hates everyone else and are this close to nuking everyone for the sake of power.

3. I don’t hate everything girly. 

I love makeup. I love jewelry. I love dressing up. I love putting on beautiful dresses. I love wearing heels (sometimes… when my feet aren’t yelling at me).

4. I don’t hate other opinions. 

I’m probably one of the first people that will listen to what you have to say (if it’s not like you’re forcing your opinions onto me). I listen to all sides of the story because I want to know exactly what happened.

~~

I think that wraps up my rant/post/thingy.

About squishymaru

Master's student in chemical engineering with a B.S. in chemical engineering as well. Loves chemistry, math, increasing diversity in STEM, politics, and public health advocacy. Loves reading, writing, and being active -- mentally and physically.

Leave a Reply

